top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureZachary Stetter

Blockouts


This week, I started with the creation of the blockouts for the different areas within our short. Working to scale to make sure that everything felt right within the scene, I was able to use sites like https://www.dimensions.guide to make sure that common objects within a scene like desks and armories were the correct dimensions.



After researching the dimensions, I created Photoshop documents for the rooms in the town and a scene within the forest. I included all dimensions within these documents, knowing that they would probably change slightly once we got into Maya, messing around with them until they felt 'right'.



The last thing I did before beginning the actual blockouts was I created a series of blocks and shapes within our modeling(CMPT_CHAR) folder to use within the scene. These all fit within the dimensions that I found across the sizing websites.




With all of that done, I moved on to the actual blockouts. Keeping all the set pieces to the scale that I researched, I did modify some of the rooms so that they felt a little more open and less cramped than within my drawings. I also created a standin for Saint George, a simple 6 foot tall man that will imitate the movement and likeness of our character. For the forest and exterior of the cave, I used a mash system to plant some quick foliage around on the ground to fill up the scene slightly, but the trees were easily enough planted by hand. This week I will go through and make revisions to the sets based on the group's critiques.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page